DSCN1303Hi all,

At this time of year probably more than any other, I tend to go through an awful lot of lip products, and I have had to go through a number to find ones that actually work for me in the winter, as I have very dry lips and am also prone to cold sores.

At the top of the picture is my trusty Sexy Mother Pucker Gloss Stick from Soap and Glory, this one is in the shade Raplumzel, which is a lovely plum shade that isn’t too intense, so would suit most skin tones. As it is pencil shaped, you can also use it as a lip liner if you wanted to, with a plum coloured lipstick. This is beautifully moisturising, and with it’s 3D colour technology, even if your lips are a little dry to begin with, it fills them out. I also have this in the shade Bashful, which is a pretty pink/nude shade which is perfect if you prefer a more natural lip.

Underneath on the picture above, I have shown my favourite lip colour from my ‘Fall Favourites’- the Revlon Lip Butter in the shade Berry Smoothie. It’s my go-to lip product at this time of year as it is most like a tinted lip balm and lasts for ages without drying at all. There are a lot of different shades, however I tend to find that the others are too dark for a daytime look. You can pick both this and the Soap and Glory Lip Gloss up in Boots for around £8.

Bottom left on the image above is my favourite lip balm, the Nivea Lip Butter. I have one of these in most of my handbags and coat pockets, as well as the unscented ‘Original’ formula by my bed. Just one swipe of these will sort out my dry lips in a few minutes, and the formula is gentle enough that I can also rub it onto my cold sores if I have them, to stop them cracking. As I really do not rate Vaseline, I find these are a brilliant alternative and are about the same in price- approximately £2 from most supermarkets and drugstores.

Next to this is one of the Top Shop lipsticks, which are my favourite lipsticks of all time. I have been told that they are actually made in the same place as Mac lipsticks, from the same formula (but don’t quote me on that!). Both colours that I own have now been discontinued, a nude shade (which is perhaps too nude for my lips!) and a beautiful bright pink that compliments a brown smokey eye beautifully. The formula can be a little drying, but the colour payoff is amazing and there is no reason why you can’t pop a swipe of lip balm over the top. For only £8 compared to Mac’s £16 they are an absolute steal.

Finally we have Lucas’ Paw Paw Ointment, which is expensive to get your hands on (£8+shipping) as it is made in Australia, however it is worth every penny. I use this on dry lips, cold sores, dry elbows, sore noses after a cold, eyebrows to keep them in place, grazes scrapes, blisters… It’s a wonder product. You can get Paw Paw Ointment in Urban Outfitters, however it is not the same formula as this and I don’t believe works as well, although the pink one is very pretty as a cheek and lip tint.

So there you go, my favourite lip products for the winter all in one post, perhaps you could grab some of these with your vouchers after Christmas and store them away until next year!

I hope you all have a lovely Christmas!

Until next time,

B xoxo

4 thoughts on “Lip Sync- The Winter Edit

  1. OH! and forgot to ask do you know any good remedies for dry winter skin too? 😦 my skin has started coming out in red dry blotches because of the weather, I’ve tried that clinique redness solution but my skin reacts to it so I didn’t know if you knew any different skin repairing remedies!

Leave a comment